Derby accommodation

Derby northern Tasmania
JustTasmania.com
Derby Tasmania

Bridport accommodation
Deloraine accommodation
Fingal accommodation
Flinders accommodation
Geeveston accommodation
Huonville accommodation
King Island accommodation
Latrobe accommodation
Lilydale accommodation
Marrawah accommodation
Maydena accommodation
New Norfolk accommodation
Ouse accommodation
Penguin accommodation
Queenstown accommodation
Swansea accommodation
Triabunna accommodatoion
Zeehan accommodation

Derby - accommodation, restaurants, things to do

restaurant icon  Derby - restaurants  
Dorset Hotel, Main Rd, Derby (03) 6354 2360
Federal Tavern, Main Rd, Derby (03) 6354 2145
 
accommondation icon  Derby - accommodation  
St Paul's Bed And Breakfast, 52 Main St., Derby (03) 6354 2422
Dorset Hotel, Main Rd, Derby (03) 6354 2360
Federal Tavern, Main Rd, Derby (03) 6354 2145
Cobbler's Accommodation, 63 Main Rd, Derby  (03) 6354 2145
 
ideas icon  Derby - things to do  
The Tin Dragon Interpretation Centre and Cafe - Main St, Derby - open 7 days a week
Derby River Derby - October
Video / pictures of area

about icon  Derby - some history & information

The Derby area had been surveyed in 1855, but was not settled or inhabited until 1874, when George Renison Bell discovered tin in the area.

Derby Tasmania - river viewsWithin a few years there were thousands of miners, both European and Chinese, working in the general area up and down the Ringarooma Valley. Derby was originally called Brothers' Home for the Krushka brothers' mine, the first in this locality. In May 1887 the name was changed to Derby in honour of the then Prime Minister of England, the Earl of Derby.

In the 1880s and 1890s the town was prospering.

The district had a population of around 3000 and the mine, which had been renamed Briseis after the 1876 Melbourne Cup winner, was recognised as the richest tin mine in north east Tasmania. It was producing up to 120 tons of tin every month.

The town's major attraction is the Derby Tin Mine Centre (open from 9.30 a.m. - 5.00 p.m. daily) which is a carefully recreated mining village including a main street, a huge sluice and a wide variety of mining equipment.

Tasmania northern region The story of tin and the history of Derby can be found at the Derby History Museum, housed in the old School house in the main street of Derby.

The Museum is run by an enthusiastic team of volunteers who will be happy to tell you all about the incredible riches the discovery of tin brought to some of the early settlers.

The devastation and tragic loss of life to during the 1929 floods can also be recalled at the next door Tin Centre.

As a visitor you can also experience the bygone days of the old school room, view Chinese artifacts, war memorabilia and many photographs of an earlier era of the township.

In 2003, an archaeological excavation at a Chinese mining hut unearthed thousands of artifacts, including what might be Australia’s oldest soy sauce bottle.

The discovery revealed a fascinating story of the Chinese mining community that lived and worked the area in the late 1800s.

At the Derby park there are BBQ facilities, picnic areas and public toilets and there is madness and mayhem in the ‘Derby River Derby’, held in October.

Climb to the monument- with stunning views over the town.

There are 4WD treks. A river walking track, ‘Fish Rock’ and canoeing and fishing is possible on the nearby 'Cascade Dam' and the rivers which surround Derby.

 

© 2013 JustTasmania.com